Savoury Crepe with Arugula, Avocado and Sunny Egg

I have made savoury crepes in the past, but after I saw a recent YouTube video of someone I’m subscribed to who had made it, I decided to have it again and made it for brunch today. Crepes are quite versatile, in the sense that you add whatever you want in it. I like to keep my food simple so I only used three ingredients as a “filling”, and no sauce this time, as I’m watching my calories as I continue with my diet.

In the YouTube video, Gabie Kook uses sparkling water in her crepe batter, which is something I haven’t seen done before. According to her viewers, it gives the batter a lighter, airier texture. Unfortunately, I’m not very fond of carbonated water, so I didn’t have any to test it out, and just used a basic recipe.

INGREDIENTS
(makes 3 large or 4 small crepes)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 – 3/4 cup 2% milk
1 egg, for the batter
1/5 cup sugar
Pinch of salt

Butter, to grease the pan
Avocado, sliced lengthwise
Handful of arugula
Egg, cooked any way you like

To make the batter, whisk the egg and sugar in a bowl, until it becomes a pale yellow, and in a separate bowl, sift together salt and all-purpose flour. Add in the egg  to the flour and mix well. Next, slowly add in the milk as you continue to mix, until the batter becomes quite thin. You want your batter to be quite liquidy, so that when the batter is in the pan, it will spread better to achieve a nice thin crepe. Place the batter in the refrigerator for about 20-30 minutes, then remove and give the batter a whisk.

To make the crepe, simply heat a pan over medium heat, and once heated through, grease the pan with butter, ensuring it is evenly coated. Ladle 1/2 cup of batter (for larger crepes, or 1/3 cup for smaller crepes) into the pan, and quickly swirl the pan so that the batter spreads into a thin layer. Allow the crepe to cook for about a minute or two before flipping it to cook the other side. If you’re making a large crepe, you’ll need to have two spatulas to help you flip the crepe.

After the crepe has been flipped, add in some arugula to the center of the crepe, and topped with the sliced avocado and lastly, the cooked egg of your liking. Next, fold the edges of the crepe so that it becomes a square (as pictured above). Gently slide the crepe onto your plate and enjoy immediately!

Leave a Reply

