Stir-Fried Long Green Beans

This dish is commonly found at any Chinese restaurant, and is a great side dish to accompany your meal. I rarely cook Chinese food at home, since Kevin is quite picky when it comes to Chinese food, and he’s also not very fond of most vegetables. So sometimes, I would cook a little something just for me, and when I saw these Chinese long green beans at the store, I wanted to make this particular dish. There’s a similar dish to this one, in which they fry the green beans (Szechaun dry fried four season beans or 乾煸四季豆), but I opted for the “healthier” alternative.

INGREDIENTS

1 pound of long green beans, ends removed and cut into 3″ long pieces
400 grams of ground pork
3 large cloves of garlic, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1/2 – 1 Tbsp of crushed red peppers flakes
2-3 stalks of scallion, choppedSalt + pepper, to taste

Boil a pot of water and blanch the long green beans for about a minute, then drain and set aside.

Bring wok to medium-high heat, and add 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Add in the red pepper flakes and fry it for about 1 minute, then add in the sliced garlic. Fry the garlic until it becomes fragrant, and then add in ground pork, along with half of the soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, and black pepper. Break up the ground pork and ensure it is well coated with the seasoning.

Once cooked through, turn up to high heat, and in the long green beans and the remainder of the soy sauce, and toss well. You want to cook the long green beans until they appear to be shrivelled.

Turn off the heat, and add in half of the scallion, and toss again. Remove from stove and transfer to a large plate. Add the rest of the scallion over top of green beans.

2 thoughts on “Stir-Fried Long Green Beans

  1. I had no idea Kevin can be a picky eater. hahaha….

    My family likes the 4 season beans dish. But when I order it at the restaurant, my mangled Cantonese makes it sound like “bad ghost beans” and sometimes “4 ghost beans”. The waiters just cringed. So now I just point to it on the menu.

    1. Lol, sometimes when Kevin and I go to Chinese restaurants, I try to get him to order in Cantonese by teaching him how to say it. But he gets too embarrassed and flustered by the time the waiter is at our table and I ended up ordering instead.

Leave a Reply

